HR: Australia vs UK

Hi everyone! I am moving from Australia to the UK in June and wondered if anyone has any courses or resources they would recommend in identifying main differences in HR Legislation etc? 

I have a Bachelor of Commerce Degree and Graduate Diploma in HR as well as 3 years experience as a People and Culture Advisor but can’t seem to find much information around differences between HR in the UK and Australia so feeling underprepared for job interviews etc.

Let me know if this should be directed at a different Group/Forum. 

Any assistance is appreciated. 

Thank you!

• Hi Alice,

Welcome to the community (and very shortly, to the UK).

I am hoping one of my peers will have some relevant information on the differences.
    What I would say though is that you clearly have experience of HR to fall back in in an interview scenario which is great, you may, however, want to look at getting yourself a CIPD qualification as that is what nearly all employers are looking for over here.

That's not to say that your degree/diploma are irrelevant but it is a very competitive job market here for HR roles.

I hope you get some more relevant answers and good luck with your move.
  • In reply to Graham:

Hi Alice

I agree with Graham.

I've previously supported teams in Aus and from memory the law was very similar to UK, processes etc were all much of a likeness so from this angle I wouldn't worry to much. A CIPD qualification like Graham has mentioned would be a good way to ensure you fully understand the UK law and I would think getting another Admin/Advisor level job wouldn't be too difficult if you can demonstrate that you are doing this too.

Best of luck :)
  • Hi Alice

In addition to the good advice you've already received, I think the ACAS website is a useful place to start giving you a feel for some of the differences in working/legal practice in the UK

https://www.acas.org.uk/