Stagnated Development

Howdy,

I have been working in as an HR Admin for 5 years now and in that time I have grown and taken on many of the HR Manager duties. My company is amazing, I love my job and I am currently studying my CIPD level 5 which finishes in two months. 

The HR function in my business is a team of two, the HRD (who was promoted from HRM last year) and myself. I appreciate that having moved to a strategic HRD role, my direct manager must delegate some of the duties to myself to focus more clearly on her strategic role. My issue is that having discussed taking over the HRM role at the commencement of my course, now that the course is nearing completion I have taken on most of the HRM duties, it seems that my line manager is pulling back on the HRM position. 

I don't want to talk myself up, however I am fantastic in my job and I have implemented a variety of well regarded changes (a graduate program, mentoring systems for new starters), have excellent feedback on all my reviews and truly love the role and the company (which my boss knows). I am insightful, analytical and my boss tells me how she can't do without me. When a discussion around career progression come up, there was the "budget restrictions" and she shut the conversation down. So no salary increase even though I am taking on more and more duties and responsibilities well above an admin role. I'm not in it for the money, but I get the feeling that I am meant to be happy taking on the HRM function without the title or fiscal recognition. 

Where should I go from here? How do I approach my boss and tell her that I don't want to leave but I feel that in order to be recognised at the level I work, I need to move elsewhere?