Next step up the ladder.. when were you ready?

Hi all,

I've posted a similar post to this in the past so please forgive me if it sounds slightly repetitive! 

How long were you all in your first, entry level HR position before you moved up? I've been HR Admin for 3 and a half years now and am L3 qualified. Prior to that I have 2 years recruitment experience (admin/resourcing/some account management).

I recently interviewed for a HR admin position and I think the company was a bit surprised that I was still considering HR admin positions. Whilst I am keen to develop and progress, I still feel like I have some way to go before jumping up the ladder - and even then I'm not sure what the next step would be? HR Coordinator? Officer?

How long were you all in your first HR role for before taking the next step up? What key things should I be looking for in my next role in terms of progression and development? I love admin and enjoy it but do want something a bit more challenging and to learn new skills - and if I'm honest, I'm a little bit over being the office run around - I would like more authority and capacity to make decisions. Can I jump up a step and learn these skills along the way, or do I need them under my belt before I attempt to apply for something more senior? Or - is 3 and a half years not that long, and should I wait a wee while longer?

I hope this makes sense! Am feeling a bit static in terms of my career and not sure where to go from here.

Thanks,

Joni 

• Hi Joni,

I moved from HR Assistant to HR Advisor after a year and a half as I was quite keen to move up after my masters. It might be worth seeing if you can get involved in some ER cases to start?
  • Hi Joni,

I think it's all down to you and what you feel works for you!

It'd be totally reasonable to take a step up at this stage, into say a HR Assistant role, but as you probably know titles can mean very different things to different people!