Need Role Advice

I am currently a quite low-level Officer for a Recruitment form. I’m tired of doing administrative, repetitive tasks and I want to take my career to the next level. I’ll be CIPD L7 qualified in October.

What roles and opportunities are there for me for someone who has only been in in-house Recruitment for 9 months? 

• Welcome to the communities

9 months in a role isn't a very long time and you are probably still finding your feet and learning about the role. Make sure you are gaining as much experience and exposure in your current role as possible

I am not sure if you are working in a recruitment firm or in-house. If the former then the obvious next step might be to move in-house and see the role from the other side and then use that as a means to move on within the company.

L7 is both a blessing and a curse early on in your career. It is not a golden ticket to bigger and better jobs without the experience to back it up. Good luck.
  • Funnily enough, I was answering a question very similar to this one on Reddit the other day, except in that case the individual hadn't begun their CIPD training.

Working for a recruitment company isn't really seen by anyone as a first step in HR. External recruitment and internal recruitment are very different disciplines, with the former more akin to being a sales agent.

As Keith says, having a Level 7 CIPD qualification with no actual HR experience is a double-edged sword as you'll often be considered over-qualified for entry-level roles but under-experienced for roles where a Level 7 is called for. HR is an in-demand field at the moment, with most entry-level jobs being over-subscribed with candidates, which is having a depressing effect (in every sense) on salaries.