Is there life as HR Manager/BP after PhD?

Dear All,

I was wondering if any of you may have experience of having finished a PhD (or a DBA) on the back of having significant experience as HR Manager/BP (generalist).  If so, what did you do afterwards? Did you follow an academic path, or did you reintegrate into the HR milieu?  If so, did you find that your experience and studies were valued by prospective employers?

I did my PhD largely on a part-time basis whilst working in as an HR manager in the financial services industry.  However, I had to take a planned sabbatical to be able to finalise the write up, submission, preparation for the viva voce (oral examination), etc.  I am currently in-between roles.

I would love to hear the experiences of those that traversed a similar path.  Many thanks in advance.

Paula 

• Johanna

| 0 Posts

CIPD Staff

3 Mar, 2023 14:19

Hi Paula thanks for posting and sharing your situation. Not sure how many Community members will have been in a similar one actually, regarding the PhD, but it must have been a very fulfilling period for you and many employers will be interested in any insight and growth it will have brought you. What was it in?
  • In reply to Johanna:

Hi Joanna,

Many thanks for taking the time to read my post, and ask helpful questions. HR is (and can be) a fruitful field for organisational studies research, not just (largely) transactional or tactical work. Very few organisations, as seen in some of the postings here, seem to provide strategic development and opportunities despite some practitioners being professionally and/or academically qualified.