Tips & guidance before job interview

Hi everyone :)

So I've recently obtained my Level 3 in HR Practice, I've never worked in HR before but I'm very eager to get myself into the profession.

I've got a job interview coming up this Wednesday for a HR admin role and I'm quite nervous. This is the first interview I've managed to bag for a HR role (putting it down to the lack of experience in the sector) so I'm going in blind as to the type of questions that'll be asked. When I spoke to a member of the HR team confirming my attendance, they told me there would be a short task on the day. Can anyone advice me on what this task may be? I want this so badly and I don't want to go in there and freeze or look silly and unprofessional. 

So any tips and guidance would be greatly appreciated,  thank you!

• Firstly well done on getting an interview. The short task on the day may be something along the lines of looking at key skills that are needed for the role.
    I've used a in-tray exercise in the past for administrative positions. So that will look at your prioritisation, accuracy, or even planning. If you google HR in-tray exercises I'm sure some examples will come up. What ever the short task is, take your time, digest what is being asked of you, and if unsure of anything ask.
  • Hi Niamh,

Congratulations on getting the interview.