Query about my employment rights

Hi All

Sorry if this isn't in the right forum but I don't have full access just now and I really need some help. I have been working for a company for 3 months now as an agency worker, so am past 12 weeks. I cannot find anywhere whether my rights under the AWR extend to company perks. So for example where all directly employed staff get access to local discounts or offers, voucher schemes, etc. Would I be entitled to these as well or does it not extend to these type of 'fringe' benefits?

Many thanks. 

• I don't know what relevance you see in the 12 week comment, but the issues you raise are contractual as far as I can tell from your post - and we have no sight of your contractual agreements/policies.
  • Hi William

Basic pay and employment conditions only are covered for equivalence after 12 weeks so fringe benefits that aren't part of pay almost certainly aren't I'm afraidL see too

www.michaelpage.co.uk/.../temporary-worker-faqs-agency-workers-regulations
  • In reply to David Perry:

hi David
    You appear to have missed the Agency Worker Regs and I suspect that coverage does include perks.
    Funny old world.
  • In reply to Peter Stanway:

I don't think it does include perks that aren't counted as monetary pay Peter

- the link seems to concur - and in any event objective justification for the less than favourable treatment might be argued?
  • Hi William,

I think your entitlement to company perks will depend on whether the perks form park of the terms and conditions that are "ordinarily included in the contracts of employees". The relevant part of the AWR will be:

an agency worker (A) shall be entitled to the same basic working and employment conditions as A would be entitled to for doing the same job had A been recruited by the hirer
    Paragraph (1) shall be deemed to have been complied with where—