Networking for an HR role in the Manchester area

My Story 

I have a level 7 degree in HR with an Associate membership to CIPD. Here is my story. I am trying to change careers I worked in Social Work for 10 years in the USA and burned out of the career, I went to Dublin City University in Ireland and got a Masters in Human Resource Management. I graduated in Nov. 2015.

After graduation I did an unpaid internship in HR, had many interviews in Ireland but to no avail. I went all of 2016 with no HR jobs still, then I got a online orders job at Harvey Norman and was laid off after Christmas and my Mother died in the USA as well while I was in Ireland.

Now I'm in the USA with my Father and I am done with looking in Ireland and I am going to the Manchester area for hopes I can still get going and get into this field. I have never been to the UK and was hoping to get help from someone like yourself to get assistant with networking in the area. I will be in the area on June 1. I hope the wheel of life will turn in my direction soon.

Sincerely,

Eric Gaylord in the USA

• Hi Eric,
    I'm sorry to hear about your mum. My first question, and forgive me it's not meant to sound rude, but do you already have the right to work in the UK? (Just making an assumption if you are American, and therefore may not yet have this). If you do, are you making this very clear on your applications?

Annabel
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

10 Mar, 2017 11:21

Hi Eric and welcome to the Community.

What especially appeals about the UK (after setbacks in Ireland)? I notice you are "French-American", so did you consider Canada or France, too? (Apologies for the rather crass questions... just trying to glean more about your motivations).

I've edited the title of your post so hopefully it will attract more attention... and moved it to the 'Careers Clinic' from a 'closed' group. Hope that's OK?

• In reply to Annabel:

Annabel,