Getting an HR entry level position?

Hi all, I’m currently studying my CIPD Level 3 Foundation Diploma in HR Practice, and am hoping this will either lead to me going into an entry level HR position either on completion or during the course. However, I am really struggling to even get an interview with most companies advertising for entry level HR positions. I know the recruitment climate is tough just now, but just wondering if anyone had any advice on how I can edge myself that further forward? Just to give you all a bit of background – I don’t have any work place HR experience...I work as an administrator within the financial services industry. I’d really appreciate any pointers/advice that anyone can give me. Thank you! Ben.
  • Hi Ben

Good luck in your studies and in your getting into HR , its a tough job to start out in but it is possible. There are lots of threads with people asking similar questions so if you use the search facilities you will find lots of helpful suggestions - main thing is perseverance, networking, trying to gain short term experience (where you are or volunteering, and did I mention perseverance?

Heres one to get you starts

www.cipd.co.uk/.../267866
  • Hi there, I was in a very similar position 2years ago and managed to get a role as a HR Admin. I think its important for you to consider the transferable skills you have and use them to highlight how they would fit into a HR environment. It is hard, but you will get there and once you have that 1st role on your CV it does get easier! Good luck in your search!
  • Have a look specifically for job adverts that say they are open to people with no HR experience. I have put quite a few job ads out for entry level HR roles where we’ve just asked for a strong administrator who is interested in HR. Then in your application talk up your relevant transferable skills rather than your (lack of) HR experience.