The HR career journey - from a different starting line

Hello fellow HR community members.

I have just started the HRM level 5 diploma and could really do with some career advice about when and how to move into a full time HR role. I have read many posts on these forums about how hard it is to break into the HR industry, but that will not phase me.

I am currently in hospitality (hotels, restaurants and pubs) management, which deals with an array of different HR and L&D items on a daily basis. I have 15 years of experience in management which includes hospitality and retail. I have also had some self employed experience.

Currently I work around 55 to 60hrs a week, study 15hrs a week and I am a father in between that, so I do not have much time for voluntary work. My current employer is a small business, which does not have an dedicated HR department, so there is no direct on the job experience I can gain.

Putting my personal details out there, I can confirm my financial requirements are £30k+ but I am willing to take a small cut to that for a temporary basis to achieve my goal to become an HR professional.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly received.

Thank you in advance.

• David

Welcome to the site and the profession

I won't repeat all the advice you will have seen from those previous threads you have read. You will have got the picture about the challenges.

The biggest one you will undoubtedly face is lack of experience - whilst you have some great supervisory / management experience in dealing with people this probably wont get you very far into HR jobs. Sadly I fear you may well have to take a bigger pay cut than you imagine and start lower down the food chain than you would hope. There is sadly no magic bullet I can offer.

I do wish you the best of luck
  • I'm glad you're not phased, David, and welcome to the forums, but I must echo Keith's advice: