HR Role

Hi all,

I'm looking for some career advice. I currently work as a Social-Care Worker. I passed my Level 3 certificate in Human Resources last month and I am looking to studying the Level 5 Certificate in HR Management when I secure my placement first. I'm very keen to move out of the care sector to become a HR Advisor but am struggling and feeling very disengaged with the recruitment and selection into HR. I have attended many interviews, I just haven't been lucky enough yet to get a start date. I have limited experience in terms of HR, and most of my background is Call Centre. 

I look on recruitment sites daily and I send my CV and cover letter when I find the appropriate jobs, however, I am also sending emails to employers offering my services one day a week free. I am not able also to secure my placement to get more experience that way either. I wonder if there's anything I'm doing wrong or is anyone able to offer me any advice? I am really keen to progress into HR and learn a lot more. I have attended Labour Relations Agency for employment law seminars. 

Thank You,
David Murphy (Associate CIPD)

• Hi David
    Good luck with the job change. I moved into HR from a hospitality management role about 12 years ago, I had a lot of HR experience within this job but I still had to go into HR at administrator level. It was a great starting point as although I had experience of some HR issues I was now dealing with HR 8 hours a day.
    Make sure that you tailor your CV to each application making sure that you have shown were you meet the criteria. Firms want to see experience so make sure you add in all HR issues that you have covered
    Good Luck
    Tracey
  • Hi David

Could you combine the two, work in care as HR, your experience in the day to day activities will be very useful

Good luck

Sharon
  • Hi David,
    What level are you currently applying for within HR? Without experience, I'd suggest entry-level roles, HR Assistant, HR Administrator etc.