LOST in HR

Hello

I completed my Masters in Human Resources Management which included CIPD in 2010.

I then secured my first HR job in a HR Shared Centre, the role then became at risk shortly after. I left and went to another organisation in a permanent role- HR Assistan and shortly after that role became at risk. I then found a job in the public sector and soon realised that it wasn’t for me. I then joined another HR Shared Centre for almost 3 years but there was little progression. I left and found my dream job but unfortunately it was only maternity cover. I am currently temping which comes to an end in August.

I have been in HR for almost 9 years and still only getting entry level jobs-HR Assistant, I have gained my Masters and CIPD. Please can someone advise what this would translate to now in the CIPD structure. I feel like I have stuck a dead end and feel like leaving HR altogether. I am a hard worker and always try my best at everything I do. I do like to ‘get things done’. But is that such a  bad thing?

Lost HR person

• Maybe look at 'level' in terms of seniority of experience gained through longevity instead of just job title alone. With almost a decade's worth of experience, you are a senior experienced hire and HR professional.

You cannot get more advanced level roles as you do not have previous experience of working on that level, and even if you obtained the role may struggle as you have not operated on that level before. If you leave HR, you will have to start at the bottom again.

However, to get a promotion, four key factors must all be true and come into the equation:

(1) The company must have a position that it needs filled;
    (2) You must be capable of filling that position;.
    (3) You must be the best person for that position;
    (4) You must express interest and willingness to take the position.

Here below is what people often do not tell you regarding the truth about promotions and career advancement: