Seeing a template contract for HR Consultancy work

I'm often approached for HR or ER advice by people who know I'm an HR professional so I've now decided the time is right to start charging for my services. My professional indemnity / 3rd party public liability insurance is being set up but I need help with the "client / consultant" contract especially in respect of limiting my financial liability to the client.

Is any existing consultant able to share a simple contract? If not, I suppose an Employment Law solicitor would be able to draft one although it might be expensive!! I'm trying to keep start up costs to a minimum. Thanks.

• Hi Tracy,

I have something I could share with you, it might need legal to look over, but I used it when I did consultancy work a few years back. 

• In reply to Lynsey:

Hi Lynsey, sorry to muscle in but Im looking for a template too, would you be able to share. Kind regards Anne
  • In reply to Anne Yarker:

Can I be cheeky and ask for a copy too please?

Am waiting to hear if I can take early retirement from my current role later this year and am actively looking at establishing a consultancy
  • . I never used a solicitor. I've been self employed for over 20 years although not always as an HR consultant.

A solicitor is unlikely to know the circumstances of your agreement with any company and aren't likely to know more than you about what should be included unless they've been a consultant themselves!

HR writes up its own policies and procedures and rules and so on. Isn't that exactly the same for your 'conditions of consultancy' document? Much like the Main Statement of Terms and Conditions?

Salary, hourly rate, or rate per day etc.,

Number of days the work is likely to cover.

Are you asking for payment in the event of something being cancelled by the client?

Notice period if the agreement is to be cancelled by either party.

Who is providing what facilities and resources?

And so on.