Questions about CIPD Qualifications from an expat

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the community and thus apologize in advance if the following questions aren't posted in the correct forum!

In short, I'm an HR professional originally from Washington D.C., currently located in Frankfurt am Main, and looking to relocate to London at the beginning of next year with my husband. I have a little over five years of experience in HR, both in the U.S. and Germany, and am certified in the U.S. (PHR and SHRM-CP, in the event that anyone here is familiar with them). As I can't imagine that my U.S.-specific certifications will get me far in the UK, I was wondering if anyone has feedback on the value of CIPD qualifications. They're quite expensive, and being unfamiliar with both the competitiveness of the job market in London, as well as the potential ROI for becoming certified, I've been somewhat hesitant to begin actively pursuing it. I would greatly appreciate hearing anyone's experience as it relates to CIPD qualifications and prospects for associate-level HR professionals in London.

Many thanks,

Kelly

• Hi Kelly,