CV feedback

Hi All,

I am looking for HR Advisor or Talent Acquisition roles but I have not yet had any interview offers despite registering with an agency and applying for several roles direct.

My background is Recruitment (over 17 years experience).  I ran my own recruitment business for 7 years prior to deciding to pursue a career in HR.

I have Level 5 Certificate in HRM and I am studying towards Level 7.

I would be grateful if someone could have a look at my CV to advise what I could add or remove to make it more attractive to decision makers.  If you are able to help, please reply back to this feed with your email address or email me at j.charles1501@gmail.com and I'll forward you my current CV.

Should anyone be looking for a dedicated professional I am open to roles in Birmingham and across the West Midlands.  I am also willing to commute to central London for a suitable role.

Kind Regards

John

• Hi John,

If you'd like to email your CV to me at ginnie@jobsearchwarrior.co.uk, I'd be happy to help with a warts and all CV review!.

Ginnie Riley
  • I think we have some forum rules about personal email addresses, don't we, Steve Bridger?

The challenge, here, is always the question of experience. Most people looking for an HR Advisor - which is a couple of steps up the HR professional ladder - are going to be looking for prior experience in a generalist HR role and, counter-intuitive as it may seem, recruitment doesn't count.

If you apply for something more junior - like an HR Administrator - then your Level 5 qualification ends up counting against you because it's obvious (!) that you're only looking to stay long enough to get the experience to move up to a more appropriate role.

We seem to have a steady stream of people with higher-level HR qualifications (once or twice and MA in HRM) from people who've never worked in HR wondering why they can't find a job in HR.