Level 5 without Level 3

Hi.  Please can you advise if these is any way I could complete CIPD level 5 without completing Level 3.  I am looking to move to another role, however have worked as a Personnel Manager for a large supermarket for 15 years.  Having looked at the course contents I feel that Level 3 will be too basic and it would be make more sense if I could start off at Level 5 and then progress to Level 7.

Thanks in advance.

• Hi Catherine,

Yes, you can go straight to level 5 without first completing level 3. I work as a standalone HR Manager for an SME and like you felt I wouldn't gain anything from a level 3 qualification, so jumped straight into the level 5 diploma in HRM. You may find that an assessor may want to conduct a short interview with you to evaluate if you have the skills and experience to be able to undertake the course. But given your 15 years experience, i can't see you having any issue.
  • Hi Catherine,

Agree with Sarah. I did my level 5 through my local college. I don't have a degree and so was told I wasn't eligible to go straight to level 5 and would have to complete level 3 first. I attended two level 3 classes and then the tutor offered to move me to level 5. At the time, I had 6-7 years experience and as you say, the level 3 was just too basic.

I'm sure with your experience, level 5 won't be an issue.

All the best.

Jenny
  • In reply to Sarah Mackie:

Thanks Sarah. Did you complete yours online. If so, Which company did you use to gain the diploma ? Thanks. I'm just starting looking into this so I'm a bit naive at this point!
  • In reply to Jenny:

Thanks Jenny
  • In reply to Catherine:

Hi Catherine,