Starting out in HR with CIPD qualification

Hi there, I am a few months away from completing my CIPD foundation certificate and I would like to start applying for jobs once I have completed this. The problem is I have no HR experience and most jobs look for this - my background is largely in customer service so there are transferable skills - however any advice on how to gain experience would be most welcome. I currently work for a bank so there are opportunities for job shadowing; would this be enough or is there more I should be doing? There's only so much experience you can get without having the job itself!

Thanks,

Wendy

• Hi Wendy, I’m in a similar boat myself, I’m due to complete my foundation course in February and have been applying but finding I’m hearing nothing back. Rather frustrating as everywhere I apply wants experience. I’ve just suggested volunteering one day a week in a HR department to my course tutor who has said this is a good idea and I’m currently trying to sort that out but I would too like to know more about how to get in at an entry level position.
  • It's a common problem and therefore a common question, Wendy (welcome to the forums, by the way). So do have a browse to find further suggestions and wisdom.

In my experience, though, it's all about how you frame your experience against the job spec. You're unlikely to find an HR administrator role looking for extensive HR casework experience, for example. These roles are more likely to look for general administration experience and some HR knowledge.

Unfortunately, having an HR qualification can sometimes work against you in such entry-level roles as recruiters can tend to think of you as over-qualified (horrible expression) or assume that you won't stay for long and will want to advance as soon as you have some of that treasured HR experience.