CIPD level 3 certificate vs diploma

Hi,

Having worked many years in finance, I am wanting to start a career in HR. I have no experience and I am happy to start at entry level. I understand it can be hard to even get an entry level job, so I am going to undertake the CIPD Level 3 to improve my chances.

I am unsure as to whether I should do the certificate of the diploma? One person told me that the certificate was sufficient, and that the extra knowledge gained from the diploma wouldn't be a deciding factor as to whether I get a job or not. Someone else advised that I should definitely do the diploma, as I will have the edge over those applying who have the certificate and the extra knowledge is useful.

In the scheme of things the diploma is only an extra 3 months, but I have a lot of big personal commitments over the coming year and so the shorter the total qualification time the better. I just wondered what you would advise?

• I would do whats right for your circumstances. I have recently completed the level 5 certificate, i had started to do the diploma but a lot of personal things happened between wanting to start and my company agreeing to pay for it, so my time available to study outside of work had greatly reduced. I plan to upgrade it later to the diploma when i have more time to study again. I spoke at length to the CIPD and and my provider about it and you can always upgrade later, better to have a CIPD than none.
  • Hi Amy