New to HR and CIPD - Please advise (any advice will do!)

Hello everyone,

I have been working (and studying) as an accountant for over 5 years but I have finally decided to switch my careers. This is not just a all-of-a-sudden decision - I have always seen myself working in HR and decided that if I am going to do it, I am going to do it now.

I have been trying to find out whether I can begin my CIPD studies with economics / finance education background (both BSc and MSc in economics) and experience in accounting only. How and where do I begin? I cannot find a reliable source of information as to what I need to do first.

Also, would anyone advise recruitment role as a first step in switching to HR or has anyone else been in my shoes but found a practicle solution?

Many thanks in advance, any advice will be highly appreciated!

Best wishes

Darya

• Hi Darya and welcome to the Community. With your background it would seem to me that looking at analytics and data jobs within HR might be the better first step. You could trade on your current skills while getting to know more about the HR function.
    What do other people think?
  • In reply to Anna:

Dear Anna

Thank you for the reply.

Some people have advised to start with volunteer work, at least 1 day in a week, which I strongly agree with. What would your opinion be on that and / or is there any insstitution that might provide further practicle guidance? Also, do you believe that CIPD networking events might really help those who are thinking about switching to HRin terms of connections?

Thanks you for the advice again, very appreciated.

Best wishes

Darya
  • In reply to Darya:

If you read some of the posts on this Community Darya you will see that HR is a very competitive and quite difficult field to break into.