Mid-Career Transition To HR

Hi

I am a mid-40s senior RAF officer currently looking at options outside of the service. I have a largely operational background but have undertaken several roles with formal HR responsibilities. My current role is HR/training focused and strategic in outlook,which I am really enjoying. I am looking to undertake a distance learning CIPD Level 7 qualification throughout 18/19 to enhance my skills in this area and potentially make me more employable in the future.  I am considering HR as a future employment route and ideally at a reasonably senior level. Is this achievable and will the Level 7 qualification make me more attractive to potential employers?  I would be very grateful for any advice.  

• Hi Simon, while I was not in the RAF I was in the Irish Police Force and decided to transition to HR in my early 40's, I moved from ROI to the UK after I completed my CIPD Level 5 and other courses. My advice would be to start with a Level 5 in HRM, that to really get fully advantage of the Level 7 you need to be working in the HR field first. In terms of the CIPD Level 5 this would give you plenty to learn and understand, especially the different terminology.