Transitioning to HR but getting 'lost' between job roles and qualifications!

Hi,

I have been working for more than 10 years now in different fields (IT, customer relations, teaching, communications and PR). 

I have 3 master degrees (communications / music management / teaching French as a foreign language) obtained in France. 

I know my background is atypical and I would like now that I'm in my 30s to finally find my real path. For several years I have been thinking that HR was the right path for me as combining education/training and communications.

So now, I have decided to make the big jump and study again. However, I feel terribly lost in the middle of all the qualifications out there and how to get into the HR field.

Which level should I study? Level 3 or level 5 (as I have been working for some time and already have master degrees)?

Should I study the Award, Certificate or Diploma? What are the differences between all of them?

Should I do the Award level 3 followed by a Diploma level 5?

And the second part of my questions is about getting a job in HR without an HR qualification. I am currently looking for a job and I was thinking that it's then the right time to start in HR. But how can I find a job in HR without any experience and degree? 

Should I apply for assistant position? Can I apply for graduate programme scheme? 

Thanks a lot in advance for all your answers. I am currently based in Oxford/London and I would also really appreciate to meet with people from the field to talk about it.

• Hello! I would generally suggest going for a certificate over an award, particularly at Level 3, as the award will only be one module. The difference between awards, certificates and diplomas are how many modules/credits you do. I did the certificate for Level 3 because the extra 2 diploma modules my college offered were L&D which I wasn't interested in, and I'm doing the diploma for Level 5.