How to secure my first role in HR?

Hi everyone!

I was looking to seek some advice! I am currently studying my MSc in Human Resource Management with the CIPD Pathway at the University of Birmingham. I have finished most of my modules. My modules included: Training and Development, Managing Organisations, International Perspectives on Industrial Relations, HR Policies in Practice, Change Management, Leadership Development, International HRM, Researching Work, Employer and Employee Relations.

However, I am finding it increasingly difficult to enter the HR job market. My CV has been reviewed by my career consultants on many occasions. I have emailed a wide range of organisations offering to volunteer however I have received no responses. I have applied for internships and jobs also with no response. I am open to any type of HR opportunity and quite flexible in terms of location, given that it is within the West Midlands. I have also been applying to admin roles, but many of these require 2-3 years of experience, which I do not have. I really do not understand how to move forwards from here. Any advice would be highly appreciated! Thank you for your time!

Hazira 

• Hi Hazira, firstly I would suggest read these communities as many people are finding themselves in the same boat. Second, as Robey may ask you, be prepared to explain to potential employers why you undertook an MSC with no practical experience. Unfortunately it may appear that you will be looking to leave an entry level job quite quickly, but won't be considered for a more senior role without the practical experience.

It is a shame that you don't get responses but I think that volunteering in an HR capacity, whilst often suggested, is in fact not too likely to happen, unless perhaps you can find a small charity that don't have any central HR support to draw on. Even then, you would need to demonstrate you can apply learning to a real workplace.
  • Hi Hazira