Is anyone else struggling to begin a career in HR?

Hello, 

I have recently graduated from university where I studied business management and HR management and achieved a 1st class degree, I am now currently studying my CPD level 5 diploma with DPG while volunteering as an HR admin (I have been volunteering for 3 months now).

My issue is that I have been constantly applying for minimum wage HR admin positions for some time now in order to 'get my foot in the door' within the HR sector, however I have had no luck with regards to this and haven't even been able to secure an interview.

Is anyone else experiencing anything similar? 

PS. I have also tailored my CV specifically for the job role but this hasn't had an impact. 

• Edward

Hi and welcome to the communities and also the profession! Congratulations on your degree.

You are not alone (sadly) and there are numerous posts (using the search) of people asking similar questions. Here are a few.

Heres another post where I listed a few of the issues so wont rehearse them again

Obviously I have no idea what your challenge is, it could be location, it could still be your CV or it "could" be that your first is turning people off for minimum wage roles. I would be tempted to leave off your degree classification. The Class might suggest to people you wont stay and will spring onto other things (as you probably will)

Its a tough old world and I wish you all the best. Its a great career but starting is one of hardest parts.

keith 

• In reply to Keith:

Hello Keith,

Thank you for the response, much appreciated.
  • Where are you based Edward?
  • its difficult, ironically it's easier to go through an apprentice HR route. my advice would be to try and get some basic admin skills exp as a starting point that linked with your CIPD could open doors. its unfortunately a catch 22 situation as alot of employers would look at a 1st class degree with a level 5 CIPD and would think you wouldn't stay for long