CIPD Level 5 Online Service Providers - your experiences and feedback, please

Good Evening Everyone,

I'm rather new to the CIPD Community and am really looking for advice and feedback so please be gentle.

I've decided to have a slight career direction change in my life.  I've decided to follow my passion for people and to study for a CIPD Level 5 Diploma in HR online. I have a good educational background and a second class upper degree (Business Studies) so am not frightened of study or hard work. As a recent new father I feel this will give me the most benefit and flexibility as well.

Being the analytical person that I am, I've done lots of research into training provides such as ICS Learning or Developing People Group (DPG) or Avado. All are approximately the same price.

So what I'm really after is your own experiences, the good, the bad and the ugly with either of the three providers ICS Learning or Developing People Group (DPG) or Avado.

Any and all experiences and feedback very welcome. Thank you in advance.

David K

• Hi David,

First, welcome. We’re not a bad bunch here, don’t bite much...

OK, study. I have just started my Level 5 with Avado. Prior to this I completed several Open University modules for CPD, and FutureLearn/OpenLearn modules for interest. So I’m used to online learning.

I have found Avado to be very good. The initial contact was helpful and professional and so far the coursework has been well designed - although I have only done the one module so far. There are some whinges: it can be difficult to navigate sometimes, they have an annoying habit of using a particular site for references that after 3 pages wants you to pay for more, and the references used are not always academically rigorous, but overall I’d give them a solid 9/10.
  • In reply to Teresa:

Hi Teresa, thank you very much for your reply .
  • Hi David,