Level 5 or 7

Hi, 

I am new to this community. I am sure this question has been asked in the past but would please need some advice. 

I am really confused if I should opt for level 5 or level 7. If level 7 certificate or diploma.

I have been working in HR (recruitment team for NHS)for the last 6 years now and have been a managing a small team for last 3 years. My role is HR officer though but have 3 people under me.  I have a mix of information about what level I should be doing . I have done masters in  Business management 8 years ago.  . I am currently on my maternity and want to utilise  this time .

Some suggest I should opt for level 5 as this will provide basic knowledge whereas some people suggested I should go for level 7. Also feedback I received  was that I can do level 7 certification first and then top it up with diploma . Is level 7 for top management roles only . Can I do level 7 without level 5. Is level 7 doable. 

Any advice would be appreciated as more I read more confusing it becomes . 

• I had a similar dilemma which I've previously raised here - I had a degree (non HR) , had completed Levels 3 and 4(no longer part of the CIPD qualifcation scheme) and have over 15 years HR experience at Assistant/Advisor level. Speaking to the course providers some said Level 5 wouldnt stretch me enough and others said Level 7 would be too high to do via 'mixed mode' learning. In the end I started the Level 7 as advised by the provider, but then I just wouldnt get the exposure to Head of Service/director level that I would need to successfully complete the course so went back to Level 5 which I did successfully complete and did still stretch me enough.
    It can also depend how you are studying as a number of my colleagues have successfully completed Level 7 as HR Advisors as they have studied it part time at university with more of a taught aspect. Also they have gone straight to Level 7.