What level should I study?

I have been working as an office manager for 6 years. As part of that role I have looked after onboarding and staff wellbeing and now in my new role I am also responsible for recruitment, performance management, dealing with disciplinarys etc. I would like to study CIPD and believe a level 5 is best for me but I spoke to a training provider and she said that as I already have an undergraduate degree (in English Literature) it would be wasting my time doing level 5. That doesn't sound right to me as I don't have the experience to go straight to Level 7. Another training provider agreed with me. What do you suggest?

• Welcome to the communities

For me there are always two answers to this one

1) What level of academic study can I deal with - which the answer for you may well be level 7, given your first degree (although not automatic)

2) Which level will give me the learning and knowledge require. I would say that's most likely to be Level 5 - that seems to be the level you operate at give or take.

So both might be right - but I would go for level 5 to get a solid grounding in HR before progressing possibly later to a L7 course.
  • In reply to Keith:

Thanks. That is what I was thinking so I will go with that
  • I had a similar issue about which level to study at which I posted on here.
    I was looking at Mixed mode distance learning and different training providers were advising the appropriate level as level 5 and level 7! My background was 15 years HR experience, degree , and Level 3 and 4 CIPD. In the end I started at Level 7 but within a month was advised to switched to Level 5 as in a work based context I couldn't get the exposure or had the experience I would need to demonstrate the Learning Outcomes. I have found that Level 5 was enough to stretch me to learn more but unrealistically pushing me too much like Level 7 was.