Is HR a suitable career choice for me ?

Hello everyone,

I am very glad to have joined the forum and thank you in advance for reading.

I am considering a change in career and i am wondering if HR is suitable for me? I have a degree in Business form 17 years ago but i didn't pursue a career in Business. I have worked in caring roles in Mental Health and i now run my own Taxi Business. I have always shyed away from office work and the mundane admin roles as i am quite entrepreneurial and can get bored repetitive tasks.. I love the idea of supporting and developing people in business, and i find leadership and Psychology fascinating. Are there specific area of HR that focus on these areas and how would i approach this ?

I am a prestigious learner when i find a topic in which i am interested and i am considering  Studying either an MA or CIPD course. How do these routes of study differ and which is more relevant to the work place ?

I don't have any HR admin experience but i have a lot of active listening and Counselling skills. My Brother in Law may be looking for some one to take over the HR role in in his 30 employee Law and i have emailed my interest. What HR areas would i need to look to develop if i get an interview. The firm is growing and how would one grow the HR function ?

Thank you Chris

• It sounds like you're well placed to respond to the less process-driven aspects of HR, but the problem is that a lot of HR - especially for an SME and the standalone HR person supporting it - is process-driven. The traditional pathway is HR Admin -> HR Advisor -> HR Manager -> HR Director (throw in HR Business Partner somewhere along the way). A lot of people short circuit this and drop in at a higher level, but typically after having had a good deal of exposure to at least some aspects of HR practice, such as employee relations, redundancy/TUPE or payroll.