15 years' experience - what's next?

Hi Everyone.

I would love some advise as to how to work my way up the ladder in HR.  I have over 15 years HR admin experience and now dealing with GDPR along with HR admin in my new role.  Bare in mind i am not based in a large city where opportunities are greater.

I have a 3 year dip in mgmt completed along with various employment law seminars/ mgmt courses completed and of course i have completed my CIPD Diploma in HR.

so my question is what you you all as Experience HR managers etc recommend i do next to get my foot on some type of ladder for progression?  should i go an do y Degree in HR ........ or how do i grow into a HR BP or Officer etc ...

I see some hr professionals in more senior roles than me with less experience and less qualifications and it makes me wonder is there any set guidelines and is it all about luck and location????

Any help i would appreciate.

Thanks 

Tina 

• Hi Tina

With 15 years experience in HR admin you have a lot to offer a company! Have you tried applying for any HR Officer roles? Have you gotten any interview feedback?

It may also be worth linking up with a recruitment agency as they can help you tweak your CV to show off the best parts about your experience and put you forward for roles

Melanie
  • With 15 years' experience, you may find that the difference between you and less-experienced people who have moved further up the ladder (like me, with only ten years' experience!) is purely a more immanent desire to move up that ladder.

As I've said elsewhere, when looking to advance professionally and find a new role a crucial step is to define as clearly as possible what it is that you *want*: more money? More status? Opportunities for learning and development? To participate in a transformation programme?