Cannot decide between level 5 and level 7

Hi 

I'm currently an HR manager in the third sector - been doing it for 3 years but I sort of fell into it via other roles (which HR has always been part of nonetheless) so my learning has been by experience, not by qualification. 

I would now really like to move along in my HR career by getting some qualifications but I cannot decide between level 5 and level 7. I have both an undergraduate degree and an MA so I don't feel like I would have any issues with the academic side of things but I am not sure if level 7 is too high and I should get the groundwork done in level 5 instead. On the other hand there is a big cost implication for me as I'll be self funded so I would rather do the qualifcation which will be most helpful for me and my future career.

I am most interested in strategic HR and HR theory and in organisational change, and eventually would like to work into HR consultancy work and change management.

Any advice would be most welcome. 

• When you say "HR Manager", do you mean that you are leading a team of HR staff, or are you in a standalone role?

Is you current role very secure?

If you are in a secure, leadership role and you already have a postgraduate level qualification, go for Level 7. You should be aiming for Chartered membership if you want to grow into a strategic or consulting role. I would also advise you to speak to your local CIPD branch to get insight into the chartership process, as you will want to begin identifying projects within your role that you will want to draw upon to illustrate your experience for your eventual status change. If you time things right, you should be able to complete your Level 7 and obtain Chartered Member status almost simultaneously.