Career change dilemma - please help!

Hi everyone

I am currently in the dilemma of whether to continue with the hope of a career change into HR, and also whether to start a CIPD course, as I will have to self-fund.

I have a business studies degree, a masters (unrelated to HR or business) and around 10 years experience in marketing and administration. In my current role of marketing / admin, I have taken on a number of HR tasks including vetting CVs, advertising vacancies, managing employee reviews, induction, and updating policies, to name a few. My employer knows I am keen on HR, and have said they are happy for me to work towards a HR role here but it means waiting 5 years for someone to retire (which is a long time in my opinion to wait around). My employer is not willing to fund a CIPD course for me as the HR Director here doesn’t have any qualifications so they don’t see the point, (they say experience counts for more, which is true in a sense) and it’s a lot of money for me to fund myself at around £6k.

I feel in a dead end, as I really want to work in HR as I enjoy it and I think I’d be really good at it. I feel that time is not on my side as I am not young anymore, progression is limited for me here and the lack of support of structured studying from my employer is quite disheartening. 

I have a friend who is a top level HR director at an extremely well known firm who suggested I go straight into the full CIPD Level 7 – as I have a degree and am naturally very studious and clever (sorry if that sounds self-aggrandising). However, course providers I spoke to recommended Level 3 or 5 – but I cannot afford to do all those levels myself and fund them, so my other dilemma is which Level to study, if any?