Do I go onto my L5 or have a break?

Hi there,

I have just finished my last assignment of my level 3 diploma thank god!! Working full time, studying and taking care of a child has been a lot tougher than I thought! 

I am currently working as a HR Co-ordinator and I have done for the past year and a half - my role is varied recruitment, inductions, quite admin based, within the next year I am hoping to move up to the 'next step'. Although I do find I have gained more experience learning on the job than studying.

I just can't decide whether to have a break from studying for a while, is L5 Diploma necessary for a HR Advisor/Assistant role? Also, how long does a L5 Diploma studying part time roughly take to complete? It's taken me exactly a year to complete my L3.

Thanks in advance,

Caitlin :)

• Hi Caitlin,
    I took a break in between 3 & 5 and regretted it as I lost the momentum plus I’m a very mature student and didn’t find returning to studying easy.
    I started as an HR Administrator and found level 3 helped with this. I’m now an ER Consultant and find the 5 more relevant to this role. That said I wouldn’t say don’t do it now. If you work for an organisation that will allow you to use what you learn and develop, go for it. Level 5 takes about 12 months part time.
    Whatever you decide, good luck with it. I studied with 2 young children and working full time and feel your pain.
    Best
    Lisa
  • I am a HRM, been in HR 14 years... I am only L3 and have no intention of going any further with my studies, It's each to their own .
  • I did the same and I must admit I wish I had gone straight to L5 to keep momentum up. I've plateaued now on my L5 and am about 3 months behind in my assignments :(
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

6 Jun, 2018 11:17

Welcome to the Community, Caitlin. Good question, which has certainly attracted some varied and personal replies.
  • In reply to Nicola: