Level 5 or Level 7 with no degree

Hello,

I appreciate his question has already been posted but coming from a slightly different angle - no degree!

I'm currently in a HR role in an organisation of 120 people. My job title is Global Human Resources Manager and apart from one other HR source in our US team I deal with all HR matters for the business and have done for the past three years +

I studied the Level 3 HRM diploma about three years ago and prior to this I did not study any kind of degree.

I am now struggling to choose between studying Level 5 HRM diploma or the Level 7. I have had very mixed advise with a few telling me that Level 5 is just putting into practice what I already do and I would be better off jumping straight to Level 7 and then more recently being told that as I haven't got a degree I would struggle with the style of writing, dissertations and exams that the Level 7 require. This person also suggested I maybe do a Level 5 certificate (as opposed to the diploma) and then move onto the Level 7 to save time.

I want to progress to HR Director as quickly as possible but not at my own detriment.

Any advise would be very helpful as driving myself mad choosing between the two!

Thanks

• Hi Jade,

I too don't have a degree and started with level 5. I was originally put on the level 3 course, because I don't have a degree, but after 1 week on the course, the tutor moved me to level 5. From my personal experience, there was a big difference between 3 and 5 and I definitely couldn't have gone straight to 7. My advice to you would be to do level 5, its a great springboard for the level 7.

Hope that helps, and good luck with whichever route you take.

Jenny