Level 7 Diploma whilst on maternity leave... has it ever been attempted?

Hi all,

I would appreciate any guidance and experience sharing on this, as I am considering taking up Level 7 Diploma studies a couple of months before my maternity leave is due to start, and then, all going well, continuing to study throughout the mat year off, with a view to make significant progress towards completing it before I come back to work.

For background, I have previously done a Level 5 and I have a degree, so I don't anticipate I'll struggle with the level of the course. I am an HRBP with management experience so I feel the Level 7 fits perfectly. 

The only thing I am worried about is how realistic it is to get anything like this done, even a couple of hours a day, maybe a few days a week when you have a newborn on your hands? It is going to be my first maternity leave so I have no clue what I am getting into. When I completed Level 5, I did it alongside full-time work in less than a year. 

So doing Level 7 on mat leave can't be much more taxing than that... Or am I being naive?

Any thoughts welcome - especially if you've done either Level 7 or mat leave (or both!) before.

• Good luck Maria - I've completed my Level 7 but not the mat leave part. Reading was the main thing for me and I guess if you can get a good book stand you can multi task! One of our group also downloaded his workbooks into an MP4 format so that he could listen whilst pounding the treadmill at the gym. I guess it's finding whatever works for you. My main advice would be too not stress and be prepared to ask for an extension if needed.
  • I like the MP4 part. I'm also starting soon. and I have a full time job and kids
  • Hi Maria,

Congratulations on your pregnancy!