Study Level 5 HRM - Yes/No?

Hi

I'm in need of some advice from fellow HR peeps.  I went self employed for a year to do something totally different away from HR, however, I missed the interaction with people and supporting people and now deciding to return to the world of HR on a part-time or contract basis.

I already have Level 3 which I gained in 2012 and since then I worked as an Advisor for 4 years before being made redundant, took another role "field based" for one year, unfortunately I had to leave due to medical reasons which all happened suddenly, took 6 months off, had a couple of part-time roles which weren't the best of career moves.

Do you think studying Level 5 is the right thing to do, to show employers how determined I am to return back into HR, whilst also getting up-to-date on current legislation/law?

Just worried with the breaks on my CV, Level 5 won't make any difference.  Big decision as its an expensive option?

Any advice - good or bad would be appreciated.

Thanks

• All rather depends on the level of jobs you are looking for. Its likely that for entry level jobs your experience combined with L3 will be enough. But for mid level jobs especially given your gaps/wrong turns then it may help get you a few more interviews than you would otherwise. But either way I think it may be a bit of a struggle so good luck.
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

26 Sep, 2017 10:35

Personally, I think the L5 is the logical next step, Sue Davies.
  • In reply to Keith:

Hi Keith
    I was looking at Advisor level, however, I'm interested as to why do you think it would be struggle?
  • In reply to Sue Davies: