CIPD L5 L&D or People Management - for somebody who is already a life coach?

Hi all,

I would love some advice from others who work in HR/People/L&D about a choice I want to make regarding taking either L&D or People Management CIPD L5. 

I am currently a certified life coach helping people find their dream careers with support in resume writing.
I have 18-months experience as a recruitment coordinator supporting full recruitment cycles in tech roles.
I worked abroad for 5 years in international education as a classroom teacher.
I have a masters degree in education.

I'm really interested in working inside a company utilising and developing on these skillsets.
However, I'm not sure if coaching skills would be better suited to people management or learning and development. 

I envision a role where I am coaching team members 1:1 in performance and development, helping companies train their existing employees with new skills and further their progress, developing training programs and creating workshops etc. Also being a consultant for managers/executives. But I do enjoy talent and HR as well, and not sure if coaching could be utilised further in this area.

Any advice which would be better suited - L&D or People Management - and what job title my future vision may be under? I would like an outside perspective please!

• Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts

Community Manager

30 Jan, 2022 16:30

Does anyone feel that can provide some advice and guidance to Emma?
  • Hi Emma - very happy to chat through with you - if that helps let me know.  I come across this question a lot and we can usually work it out on a phone call.  

I generally suggest people have a look at the CIPD Jobs site to explore options and find a couple of ideal roles that appeal and are a good fit for them and then work back from that.