HR jobs and is CIPD worth it?

Hello everyone,

So I'm currently working towards my level 3, I have some basic HR knowledge as I did retail for a long time. I'm applying for jobs but the feedback is level 3 isn't high enough or I don't have enough experience.

I'm starting to get disheartened and feel like CIPD wasn't the way to go to get into HR. Is anyone else having the same sort of issues?

• I did my level 3 back in 2016-17 while working in restaurants. Towards the end of my course I found a 9 month FTC for an HR Administrator which I was successful in, the fact I was doing my CIPD (and self funded it) I am told is what got me the role. if you're being told level 3 isn't high enough what sort of roles are you applying to? Level 3 is more than sufficient for entry level roles such as an Administrator.
  • In reply to Oliver:

Hi Justin - as Oliver says working towards Level 3 should be a great help in your application towards HR roles but it does depend on what roles you are applying for. And of course your CV and other background versus the role and what the organisation is looking for. For example some roles or organisations may want the Level 5 if it's an HR Manager role. Try applying for HR Administrator level roles ie entry level first and see how that goes. Then use that to progress onto the next level - you may even be able to negotiate the funding for the Level 5 CIPD course :) Happy to take a look at your CV and the CIPD has lots of tools to help with that too. Good luck with finishing your Level 3 - keep going!