Level 5 or 7?

Hi all,

Looking for some insights and words of wisdom from those with experience of studying at level 7.

I am currently full time working as Head of Onboarding which is basically leading our recruitment and L&D teams to optimise onboarding, training and CPL for staff across the organisation.  My background is recruitment and this role is my first within the L&D sphere although I am of course not extremely close to the detail nor would I expected to be, as my role is to manage teams and drive strategic change aligned with our company's vision.

I have no academic background and have never studied at degree level.  All of my learning has been 'on the job' and my move to management and senior management has all been supported by my current employer.  I have now been afforded the opportunity to complete my CIPD and gain recognised qualification courtesy of my employer and have full discretion to choose the course which I feel is right for me.

My question is, do I go for the level 7 which, is probably more aligned to my role but will be more challenging academically?  Or, do I go for the level 5 which (in my modest view) will be more achievable for me personally given my lack of further education, and still offer me exposure to the theory and deeper understanding of situations?

For what it's worth, I also think I may have undiagnosed ADHD which manifests in me jumping from task to task or missing small details IF I don't find what I am working on engaging or see as a big enough priority.

I am also unsure whether to consider applying for the HR or L&D qualification, although my current role is as detailed above, my remit is to drive change and manage teams effectively for high performance.  I would love to branch further in to Workforce Planning and Organisational Design at some point too..

Thanks for reading (if you got this far..)

• Hello,