Difficulty in getting my first HR job in the UK

Prior to moving to the UK in July 2019 to join my husband, I worked as an HR Assistant with the Marist Brothers of the Schools, Province of Nigeria. After I arrived UK, I research on career prospect for HR, that was how I knew of CIPD. With the advice I got from ICS Learn students' advisor and having a bachelor's degree and an experience in HR, I started my CIPD level 5 course in January 2020, and worked as a carer too. I have been job hunting since January 2021 and was able to secure only 2 interviews which weren't successful after the second round of the interviews, with no obvious reason for the rejection ( I always ask for feedback so I can improve in my job search). I am as well keeping an eye on voluntary work in HR, but haven't even seen any. Please I need advice and suggestions on how I can surmount this devastating stage in my career journey. I have completed my CIPD level 5 course now and upgraded to associate member of CIPD without a job.
  • I am very happy to proceed. Please do let me know what I need to do next.
  • My email address is ogochukwueze91@gmail.com
  • Hi Ogochukwu

It took me 18 months since passing my Level 3 to land my first HR role. Then in August last year, fate decided to go against me. I was at my lowest point and close to a dark, harrowing path. I remained hopeful and after three different jobs since last year, I'm finally back in. It's beyond my wildest dreams. My message to you is keep your head up high as you you are qualified, you will get there, with every application, you are one step closer.

A recruiter in Reed also alluded to the fact that a lot of CV screeners will instantly glance at your most recent role to see how transferrable your skills are. If your going to get back into HR, make sure your current role is office based.

KR
    Fahim
  • In reply to Fahim: