L7 and struggling to get started... any advice?

Hello All, I have recently chosen to start my CIPD level 7. I have over 10 years HR and management experience, hence I am jumping in at level 7. I am really struggling starting and over whelmed with all the reading. Do you have any advice for me? Thanks.

• Could you swap to level 5? It could support you with getting back into learning… I started with level 5 as it was 9 years since I finished uni.
  • It is intense, but I would make sure that you make time for all the reading and writing, don't leave it all at once and making notes has never been needed more. So that might be setting 2 hours each week day so you have your weekends free for essay writing when it comes. The most important thing that I forget regularly, is to make sure you also find time for a break. You have such a rich foundation of knowledge that reading will just add theory to your practical knowledge and provide you with great resources for your assignments. You have got this!
  • Good luck Michelle and stick with it. I started my Level 7 in my mid 40's and never regretted it. Work out when you can spare time to read - 5 minutes over breakfast was often my start to the day. Arm yourself with highlighters and sticky tabs so you can bookmark anything of interest. I also devoured my copy of People Management for interesting articles and would highlight them for the relevant module.
    You will already have masses of knowledge so do try and remember that - it is all of that which will come into play when you start writing assignments and completing tasks. Also use the support of your group - I made some fantastic friends and networks. Plus use this group - you are not alone which I always think extremely relevant for HR when you can often find yourself working solo on something that can't always be shared.