CIPD Level 3 newbie

Hi all,

So I'm currently doing the CIPD level 3 at college one day a week. It only started a few weeks ago but it all feels a bit daunting as we are starting our first assignment shortly! 

I'm worried I'm not academic enough as I haven't studied for years. I'm not working at the moment just a stay at home mum so felt I needed something for me and feel it'll open more does I job wise as I was an admin assistant before I got pregnant. 

How hard are the assessments? Is it manageable with kids? 

Any experience of someone in a similar position would be good.

Thank you

Gemma

• Hi Gemma
    I'm not in the same position as you, but I wanted to give you some encouragement - my colleague is doing the level 3 at the moment and she says the assignments tend to require fairly short answers - her problem is cutting down on the amount of words she writes! There's loads of resources on the CIPD website and loads of people on these forums to test your answers with. Just because you're a stay at home mum at the moment, it doesn't mean you've lost all your other skills - you've just developed new ones to go with them. To be honest, working in HR is a lot like herding toddlers anyway. :-D
    Kind regards
    Jackie
  • In reply to Jacqueline:

Hi Jacqui,

Aww bless you, thanks for getting back to me. I'm just in the middle of completing my first assessment and I'm finding some of the questions hard. I'm sure once I get into it a bit I'll get a routine going, it's just hard as I've got a little one who demands a lot of attention so evenings and weekend will be study time.

Have you do a CIPD course? If so which one?

Gemma
  • In reply to Gemma:

Hi Gemma