Changing career into HR!

Hi Everyone,

I am considering changing career into HR. It's something I have been considering for some years but haven't taken the leap!

My background is in Client management, internal audit and financial professional services and I currently work for one of the Big 4 accountancy firms as a senior on project work with external Clients (banks). 

Despite always being academic I haven't got any qualifications above A level, I was accepted into university but at the time my circumstances wouldn't support me going to uni so I started working and now have 8-10 years of experience (some management) across various roles across a number of industries including energy/logistics and finance. I know I have skills that are easily transferable into HR but I am looking for that first step into a role which would support a career move. 

Although I have had a successful working career so far and always earnt well, I have found that my attitude is changing towards wanting more of a defined career path with  improved job satisfaction and what attracts me to HR is the versatility of the roles, the fact I could be an integral part of helping define a business culture and help develop and support a workforce to be the best that it can be.

Having been a line manager for a few years and having to support my team through redundancy and re-stucture alongside other ER issues, I have always worked closely with HR Business partners and dealt with ER cases particularly around learning and development, disciplinaries and absence management etc. I have always found it so interesting and have really enjoyed this element of my role. So much so, I would love to move my career in the direction of HR.