HR Newbie

Hi All,

I just completed my level 7 and I am struggling (to say the least) to secure an HR position. I have applied for so many HR Admin/Advisor roles but haven't been shortlisted for any of them so far.

My background is in Resource/Workforce planning, so I know I have a lot of transferable skills, but I feel my CV is not up to part. I am just not too sure how to fix it. It also seems that every organisation is looking for someone who already has HR experience which I do not.

Any Advise? 

Thank you.

Shana

• Hi Shana,

I was in a similar situation last year, I had been out of a HR role for almost 3 years and was trying to get back in. I landed a new HR job in October thankfully and completed my level 5 in diploma in HRM too in November.
    Are you applying for jobs through agencies or on your own? LinkedIn is a great tool! There are so many groups too that you can join.

The advise I was given after going to the CIPD annual student conference last year was to try and find some volunteer HR tasks/roles. Not always possible if time is tight but worth a look around and ask. Also speaking to your "network" someone may know someone else looking to fill a position....I'm sure you've done that already so sorry if that's obvious.

For jobs you're interested in, I would go through the job description on the job post and make notes about what transferable skills I have that relate and relevant experience then tailor my CV to that job. I have probably 10 different versions of my CV all for HR roles.

Do you know anyone who has a small company where you could help out with some HR bits just to get some experience?

These forums are also brilliant for getting information and advise!

Not sure if this is any help but I know how frustrating it can be, the right role will come along.
    Lorraine
  • In reply to Lorraine:

I've been applying for jobs on my own and I've also been applying via LinkedIn.