First time studying since school & I'm completely lost

I am studying the level 5 diploma & attended my first workshop 5RST at the end of May; since then Ive been swallowed in the busy world of work, children & life. My first assignment is due to be submitted on 5th July & I havent even started.  Honestly, I think Ive put it off because Im scared. I left school well over 20 years ago & never attended uni or anything so quite simply put I have no idea where to start. I dont know how to write an assignment or reference (although I think the latter isnt really an issue) It just feels like an absolute mine field.  Having worked at HR BP & HRM levels for over 8 years its not that I dont understand the content its just working out how to put it all into the correct context. My career to date has been one of a very hands on generalist & analysis of data etc has been restricted to internal requirements so comparing labour trend markets right now just fries my brain. 

Is there anyone who can offer some guidance, tips, tricks, advice or a miracle??

Thanks in advance
Marie 

• As others have said, don't be at all afraid to ask for - and insist on getting - help.

But for your first assignment, the main thing is just to get started. Have a brain-dump, bullet-point the things you think you want to say, sort them into some kind of logical order, then start writing. You'll probably find that your thoughts evolve as you go, so either write your introduction at the end, along with your conclusion, or be prepared to tweak it afterwards. Worry about referencing at the end; stick a highlight in wherever you're going to need to add a reference, and come back to it later, so you don't disrupt your creative flow. Analysis is analysis - look for trends, similarities and differences, and comment on them, the same as you would when looking at internal data.