First time studying since school & I'm completely lost

I am studying the level 5 diploma & attended my first workshop 5RST at the end of May; since then Ive been swallowed in the busy world of work, children & life. My first assignment is due to be submitted on 5th July & I havent even started.  Honestly, I think Ive put it off because Im scared. I left school well over 20 years ago & never attended uni or anything so quite simply put I have no idea where to start. I dont know how to write an assignment or reference (although I think the latter isnt really an issue) It just feels like an absolute mine field.  Having worked at HR BP & HRM levels for over 8 years its not that I dont understand the content its just working out how to put it all into the correct context. My career to date has been one of a very hands on generalist & analysis of data etc has been restricted to internal requirements so comparing labour trend markets right now just fries my brain. 

Is there anyone who can offer some guidance, tips, tricks, advice or a miracle??

Thanks in advance
Marie 

• Hi Marie,

I too have gone back to studying after a long time out of education, and it can be daunting on it's own so add in family, work, other commitments a phew! But it's worth it and in the grand scheme of things just try to remember that once it's done, you can move on.

A few of tips I've been given that have really helped:

1) Look at the learning objectives of the module - they give you guidance on what they are looking for you to demonstrate in the assignment.

2) Read the assignment question before you start studying the module. This will help you pick out key points. Jot them down separately or highlight in a different colour so they are easy to find and expand on later.