Transitioning from Military HR to Civilian - which course should I complete??

Good Morning,

I am close to the end of my military career and I have been an administrator for the duration of my 22 year career, although for a spell we were know as HR Administrators my understanding is that HR in the real world is very different.  I am looking at completing the CIPD Level 5 HR Management qualification but am unsure of what the best course for me will be.  I have looked at a number of options and I think my preffered option is a part time taught course which conisists of 8 x 2 day workshops over a 14 month period (with Chysos). However, my dilema is that I will have left the army (only by a month or so) before I qualify using this option (I can't start the course until Jan as I am currently overseas).  How difficult (clearly this is dependent on how quickly I absorb the information) would it be for me to complete the qualification through ICS and doing it online? 

All advice would be greatly appreciated as this is a huge step for the next chapter of my life.

Thanks

Steve  

• Personally I would do the course that best suits your learning style. I don’t think qualifying a month after you leave the service is the crucial factor as I don’t think L5 is necessarily the key to getting your first job in HR.

I also think you are likely to benefit from the networking and interaction with people from outside the service on the taught course.
  • I guess it sort of depends on how much HR knowledge you have gain through your 22 years in the Army. You could consider looking at a experience assessment, this is a much quicker route but ultimately assumes you already have the prerequisite knowledge required. If you arrange a conversation the CIPD will talk you through whether experience assessment is suitable for you.
  • In reply to Keith: