Upgrade from Associate to Chartered Member

Hi everyone

I completed my level 7 diploma in HRM in 2016, and feel I have been working at Chartered level for some time. Could anyone offer some advice on what is expected from the CV? I ask because I submitted my CV for screening, which included projects I'd led, relevant roles, achievements etc and the response I got was:

It is difficult to suggest if your experience is going to be sufficient to upgrade. If you could update your details to more accurately reflect your key areas of responsibility and accountability in your recent role together with visible timelines ensuring that the last three years are documented, it would be very helpful. 

Should I have put dates next to my projects and stated 'responsible and accountable' next to those relevant bits?

I will give the helpline a call, just wondering beforehand if anyone has had this.

Thanks, Tracey

• First, contact your local branch if you haven't already. Many branches have membership advisors - volunteers who provide their expertise for free to assess and advise on your application for membership upgrading.

Second, without seeing your CV it's hard to advise in detail. But like any job application, you should examine the person specification carefully and make sure that your CV reflects what the PerSpec is looking for. IIRC, Chartered Member requires applicants to show a leadership role in the development, implementation and assessment of specific HR projects. This can be tricky for those of us working in relatively unstructured environments when particular activities aren't necessarily identified as a "project", but you have to extract what you can and put the right spin on it, like any application. Make sure you find something where you can evidence leadership in a project that needed development and implementation, and which you hung around for long enough to make an assessment of its impact.