Why am I finding it so hard to get a break in HR?

Hello to all of you wonderful HR professionals, 

I am hoping someone may be able to help me. I am currently pursuing my second MA (first was in Applied Psychology) in HRM. I love it! I have four years middle management experience in public and not for profit sectors but currently I am working as a clerical officer for the health service.  I am hoping to move into a HR role but finding it difficult despite the fact I have people management experience. I am data driven with advanced skills in qualitative and quantitative report writing. Experienced in staff training and recruitment and I am a published and award winning academic. I am empathetic and I have proven business development skills.

Why am I finding it so hard? Am I underestimating how long it takes to catch a break in HR? I am not afraid of hard work and I have forged and created HR related experience in my current post. I just don't know where I can further improve without getting an opportunity but I am very open to hearing new suggestions. I have lots of volunteer experience ( throughout the years) but at the moment I cannot secure volunteer work as I am not available to volunteer during business hours. I am open to volunteering after work, remotely and on weekends but no one in the multiple organisations that I have approached thinks this is a valid option as I would be unsupervised (I completely understand their position). I have a LinkedIn account and I publish articles on relevant and important HR related topics such as growing your own talent and data analytics on a regular basis. 

Any suggestions on how I could advance my career when I can't seem to get in, anywhere!

I greatly appreciate any and all feedback. I am beginning to feel hopeless. 

Warm regards, 

Elizabeth 

• Hi Elizabeth

A couple of thought immediately occur to me

1) Which HR roles are you applying for?