Looking for HR experience and advice

Hi all,

I was hoping to gain some advice about anything further I can do to improve my chances of getting an entry level role in HR, as well as if anybody knows of any unpaid opportunities for experience in the Edinburgh / Glasgow area or home-based.

I am about to enter my final year as an undergraduate psychology student and am also studying towards my CIPD level 3 certificate (due to complete in January). I have managed to get a week-long placement with a previous employer which was really insightful. I currently work as a retail supervisor for a local charity shop which involves admin and recruitment aspects. On top of this I volunteer as a recruitment administrator for another charity - who are also trying to tie in some experience with performance reviews and policy updates. Prior to this my experience is customer contact and a temporary administrator position. From my practical experience and academic experience I have built the skills of report writing, data entry and analysis and proficiency in Microsoft packages. 

I have been completing free online courses alongside my current studies and work to keep productive and continuously develop, and actively used Linkedin to network etc.

I know it is a competitive market, and I will be graduating into a time of high unemployment, so I'm really trying to get experience where I can to compliment my studies.

Any advice or opportunities would be greatly appreciated!

Megan

• Hi Megan
    You're already gaining some good experience through volunteering. I would recommend adding some networking to that if you're not already doing it. Do you go along to your local CIPD branch meetings? That might be a good place to start.
    Good luck!
    Kind regards
    Jackie
  • In reply to Jacqueline:

Hi Jackie,