Jobs to begin for career in HR

Hi everyone:

I am currently doing CIPD level 5 and I wish to start my career in HR, I have been working as a project coordinator for 1 year and 8 months however I wish to proceed my career in HR from now on. I have a Masters degree. I tried several routes so far, first, online applications - there are some many outstanding people out there therefore its very competitive even if I did have a call back from interviews it is rather difficult for me to succeed - which is understandable! Second, I signed up/called recruitment agencies and to see if they are able to support me for job hunting, at the moment still waiting for replies - let's just hold on to that. Third, I tried to apply for Apprenticeships, which came to me as a surprise since I am overqualified for Level 1&2, and yet level 3&4 are very similar to CIPD Qualification anyway -so not technically gaining work experiences?! (I might be wrong). I am sure there are so many other routes that I have not tried yet.

I would love to hear anyone's past experiences in starting up their career in HR - ideally I wish to work for sides such as operational improvement/ recruitment, obviously starting up as an assistant to understand things in general.

Please let me know what you think

Many thanks in advance :)

Paula

• If you're currently doing your Level 5, then the apprenticeship boat has, rather, already sailed.

Out of curiosity, if you're not currently working in HR what led you to begin your Level 5 rather than a Level 3? Was it because you were already educated to Masters degree level? I don't think that's a problem, btw. But I was curious to know what advice people were being given about the right level to begin their HR training.