HR Entry Level Roles

Hi all,

I'm looking for some career advice. I currently work as a part time HR Administrator/ Nurse. I am  currently doing my Level 3 certificate in Human Resources . I'm very keen to move into a single role as an HR Administrator  but am struggling to get any further. My current organisation has already made it clear right from the get go that my role isn't one I will be able to progress with while there.

I have been to a few interviews and seem to get positive feedback but never land the job due to ; Previous person retracted resignation, Company stopped all recruitment or they never respond, which leaves me wondering.

I look on recruitment sites often and I send my CV out when I do find appropriate jobs. I wonder if there's anything I'm doing wrong or is anyone able to offer me any advice? I work hard and I'm really keen to progress and learn a lot more as I no longer feel I'm learning much or being challenged in my current role.

I am based in York but will gladly travel to Leeds, Scarborough for a job

Many thanks for any advice you can offer. 

• Hallo Alexander

A road safety analogy comes to mind:

Landing that job offer is a bit like being unfortunate enough to get injured in a car accident - for every injury accident, there are (say) 20 collisions not involving any injury; 100 minor bumps and a great lot of near-misses / unsafe driving actions - say even 1000.

Thus it's a kind of statistical pyramid. Obviously, bad / unsafe drivers who get involved in lots of near-misses and collect loads of bumps and scrapes will be far more likely to end up injured in a proper accident than those better / safer ones who keep out of any near - misses.

For near-misses substitute job applications. For injury accidents read job offers.

Sorry if stating the absolute obvious - sure you get the picture.